Document Type

Class Paper

Publication Date



Auschwitz concentration camp was the largest camp established by the Nazis. The camp was in fact three main camps with different functions but with one main purpose: to force the prisoners to work. This well-known camp’s construction started in May of 1940 in Poland, which was annexed in 1939. Auschwitz would eventually be separated into three separate camps, Auschwitz I, Auschwitz II ( Auschwitz- Birkenua) and lastly Auschwitz III (Auschwitz- Monowitz).1


World at War

Included in

History Commons



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.