Ouachita Baptist University Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita

Press Releases Office of Communication

5-5-2015

Aly Smith and Ouachita student publications honored by Arkansas College Media Association

Dixon Land
Ouachita Baptist University

Chelsea Whelpley Ouachita Baptist University

Follow this and additional works at: http://scholarlycommons.obu.edu/press releases

Recommended Citation

Land, Dixon and Whelpley, Chelsea, "Aly Smith and Ouachita student publications honored by Arkansas College Media Association" (2015). Press Releases. Paper 125.

 $http://scholarlycommons.obu.edu/press_releases/125$

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Office of Communication at Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita. It has been accepted for inclusion in Press Releases by an authorized administrator of Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita. For more information, please contact mortensona@obu.edu.



For immediate release

Aly Smith and Ouachita student publications honored by Arkansas College Media Association

By Dixon Land and Chelsea Whelpley

May 6, 2015

For more information, contact OBU's news bureau at newsbureau@obu.edu or (870) 245-5208

ARKADELPHIA, ARK. – Aly Smith, a senior Ouachita Baptist University mass communications and graphic design double major from Sherwood, Ark., recently was awarded Yearbook Editor of the Year at the 2015 Arkansas College Media Association (ACMA) annual convention at John Brown University in Siloam Springs, Ark. Ouachita student publications received a total of 32 awards at the convention.

"I don't design the book for the awards; I do it to create a lasting memory of our time at Ouachita that will hopefully sit on bookshelves for years to come," Smith said. "That being said, I love that the book and staff has been recognized in this way. Being honored with these numerous awards highlights all the hard work and long hours that were put into the creation of the book."

"We are blessed to work with such talented and dedicated students," said Dr. Deborah Root, chair of OBU's Rogers Department of Communications and faculty adviser of the *Ouachitonian* yearbook. "It's a joy to see them rewarded for their work. They know that even though we are the smallest college represented at ACMA, we can produce award-winning publications that help tell the story of the university they love so dearly. They will cherish this time, and the publications they produce, for decades to come."

Along with Yearbook Editor of the Year, Smith earned third place for Designer of the Year.

In individual entry competition, the *Ouachitonian* won 23 awards, including second place in the categories of Theme, Closing and Endsheets. The yearbook also received third place for cover design.

Ouachitonian staff members recognized for individual work include:

- Sophomore Amber Easterly, a mass communications and business administration/marketing
 double major from Alexander, Ark., won four awards, including first place in organization writing
 for a piece titled "Changing Lives." Easterly, along with Smith, also received second place and
 honorable mention in organization layout for pages titled "Serving Campus" and "Collaborating
 Sound."
- Ben Cline, a 2014 graduate of Ouachita and former sports editor of the *Ouachitonia*n, won three awards, including Special Feature Writing. Cline, along with Smith, won awards for Yearbook Sports Layout and Student Life Layout.

- Abbey Little, a sophomore mass communications and business administration double major from Pearcy, Ark., along with Smith, won first, second and third place in the Portrait Layout category for feature spreads about Ouachita students Emily Harris, Buck Schroeder and Katie Scott.
- Zach Parker, a junior mass communications and political science double major from Shreveport, La., was honored for his work with both the yearbook and *The Signal* newspaper. Parker won second place in "Yearbook Sports Writing," for a feature on the 2014 Ouachita wrestling season. He also won honorable mention in "Sports Column Writing" in the newspaper awards.

"The ACMA convention allows our students to see publications from across the state and compare notes on design, coverage, convergence with online publications and other emerging issues in journalism today," said Dr. Jeff Root, dean of the School of Humanities and adviser of *The Signal*, OBU's student newspaper.

Staff members from *The Signal* also were recognized for their work. The publication received seven awards overall.

"Any time you are recognized for your work, it's a humbling experience," said Dixon Land, a junior mass communications and Christian studies double major from Little Rock, Ark. "I enjoy what I do and being recognized for my hard work is just icing on the cake for a job that is rewarding every day."

Students recognized for their work with *The Signal* include:

- Land won five awards, including third place in "General Personality Profile," third place and honorable mention in "Sports Column Writing" and third place in "Sports Feature Writing."
- Noah Hutchinson, a senior mass communications major from Texarkana, Texas, was honored in the category of Cartoon Strip or Single Panel Entertainment Cartoon for "Distractions" and second place for his piece titled "Cartoon Strip."

The ACMA is an organization of collegiate newspaper, yearbook, online, magazine and television staffs from across Arkansas. The annual convention rotates among schools each year and is organized by the publication advisers at the participating colleges and universities.

For more information, contact Dr. Jeff Root at rootj@obu.edu or (870) 245-4186.