Ouachita Baptist University

Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita

Guest Artist Concert Performances, Programs, and Posters

Division of Music

9-16-1994

1994 Arkansas Symphony Orchestra

Akransas Symphony Orchestra

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarlycommons.obu.edu/guest_music

Part of the Music Commons

Recommended Citation

Akransas Symphony Orchestra, "1994 Arkansas Symphony Orchestra" (1994). *Guest Artist Concert Performances, Programs, and Posters*. 115. https://scholarlycommons.obu.edu/guest_music/115

This Program is brought to you for free and open access by the Division of Music at Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita. It has been accepted for inclusion in Guest Artist Concert Performances, Programs, and Posters by an authorized administrator of Scholarly Commons @ Ouachita. For more information, please contact mortensona@obu.edu.

Ouachita Baptist University

PRESENTS

Arkansas Symphony Orchestra

David Itkin Music Director/Conductor

In CONCERT

HARVEY AND BERNICE JONES PERFORMING ARTS CENTER

Friday, September Sixteenth Nineteen Ninety Four Eight Fifteen p.m. Arkadelphia, Arkansas

PROGRAM

Short Ride in a Fast Machine

Romeo and Juliet, Suite No. 2

Montagues and Capulets The Child Juliet Friar Lawrence Dance Romeo and Juliet Before Parting Dance of the Girls with Lilies Romeo and Juliet's Tomb

INTERMISSION

Symphony No. 3 in E-flat, Op. 55 "Eroica"

Allegro con brio Marcia funebre: Adagio assai Allegro vivace Allegro molto; Andante; Presto John Adams

Sergei Prokofiev

Ludwig van Beethoven

ARKANSAS SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

David Itkin, Music Director/Conductor

VIOLIN I

James K.McLeland, Concertmaster Sandra McDonald, Assistant Concertmaster Aroussiak Baltaian Charlotte Brown Travis Cox Juliana Georgieva Karen Jarboe Tom McDonald Joe McSpadden Nikola Takov Dallas Tjaden Lei Zhang

VIOLIN II

Eric Hayward, Principal and Associate Concertmaster Diana Barnett Becky Clark Nancy Crow Beth Gould John Jarboe Rossitza Jekova Jon Kennedy

VIOLA

Timothy H. Nelson, Principal Alan Clack Phebe Duff Karen Griebling Barbara Reeve Beth Robison Boris Tonkov

VIOLONCELLO

Rafael Leon, Principal Jeff Jurciukonis Ivan Lalev Earnest Lamb Norman Malenke Elise Buffat Nelson

CONTRABASS

James Hatch, Principal Sigurd Bjorkman Troy Rinker Joe Vick Mark Osborn

FLUTE

Carolyn Brown, Principal Diane McVinney

OBOE

Gerry Gibson, Principal Mary Kay Woolley-Young Beth Lyon

CLARINET

Barbara Rentschler, Principal Karla Fournier Ken Hatch

BASSOON

Susan Bell Leon, Principal Elizabeth Martinez Ray Hankins

HORN

Caroline Kinsey, Principal Alan Goldman Robin Dauer Rusty Robison

TRUMPET

Richard E. Jorgensen, Principal David Koskoski Tim Justus

Elise Buffat Nelson Tim Justus

This performance of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra is supported in part by a grant from the Arkansas Arts Council.

TROMBONE

Kevin Chiarizzio, Principal Denis Winter David Carter

TUBA

Andy Anders

TIMPANI

Rick Dimond

PERCUSSION

Charles Law, Principal Sherri Dees Doug Demorrow

HARP

Elyse Ilku

KEYBOARDS

Carl Anthony